As with most states, Illinois has very specific laws about eviction. If you live in a rental, your landlord must follow the guidelines set by the law to legally evict you. According to Illinois.gov, to actually evict you and physically remove you from a property, a landlord must have a court order. However, before the situation gets to the point of going to court, there is another step your landlord must take.
You must be given a notice of eviction. This notice will state the number of days you have to do a specific action. How many days you have the action you need to perform depend on why the eviction process was started. For example, if your landlord is in foreclosure on the property, he or she must give you a 90-day notice of what is happening. However, if you are being evicted for a lease violation, you will be given a 10-day notice in which you will have to fix the violation or move out. If you did not pay your rent, you are given a five-day notice to pay.
If you fail to take action by the end of the notice period, your landlord can then take you to court. You may be able to remedy some situations and avoid going to court, but this is up to your landlord. In the event of a foreclosure, your landlord no longer has control over the property. You should be given information about who now owns the property and how to proceed from that point forward. This information is only intended to educate and should not be interpreted as legal advice.